ENERGY STAR® Partnership

Des Moines Public Schools is an official ENERGY STAR® partner. As such, DMPS makes a fundamental commitment to protect the environment through the continuous improvement of our energy performance. We believe that an organization-wide energy management approach will help us enhance our financial health and aid in preserving the environment for future generations. In partnership with ENERGY STAR, DMPS:

  • Measures and tracks the energy performance of facilities where possible by using tools such as those offered through ENERGY STAR;
  • Develops and implements a plan consistent with the ENERGY STAR Energy Management Guidelines to achieve energy savings;
  • Helps spread the word about the importance of energy efficiency to our staff and the community;
  • Supports the ENERGY STAR Challenge, a national call-to-action to help improve the energy efficiency of America’s commercial and industrial buildings by 10 percent or more;
  • Highlights our achievements with recognition offered through ENERGY STAR.

The following is a list of Des Moines Public School facilities which have been ENERGY STAR certified:

  1. Administrative Offices at 2100 Fleur
  2. Brody Middle
  3. Brubaker Elementary
  4. Callanan Middle
  5. Capitol View Elementary
  6. Carver Elementary
  7. Cattell Elementary
  8. Central Academy
  9. Central Campus
  10. Cowles Montessori School
  11. East High
  12. Edmunds Elementary
  13. Findley Elementary
  14. Garton Elementary
  15. Goodrell Middle
  16. Greenwood Elementary
  17. Hanawalt Elementary
  18. Harding Middle
  19. Hiatt Middle
  20. Hillis Elementary
  21. Hoover High
  22. Howe Elementary
  23. Hoyt Middle
  24. Hubbell Elementary
  25. Jackson Elementary
  26. Jefferson Elementary
  27. Jesse Franklin Taylor
  28. King Elementary
  29. Kurtz Opportunity Center
  30. Lincoln High
  31. Lovejoy Elementary
  32. Madison Elementary
  33. McCombs Middle
  34. McKinley Elementary
  35. Meredith Middle
  36. Merrill Middle
  37. Mitchell Early Learning Center
  38. Monroe Elementary
  39. Moore Elementary
  40. Morris Elementary
  41. Moulton Elementary
  42. North High
  43. Oak Park Elementary
  44. Operations Center
  45. Park Avenue
  46. Perkins Elementary
  47. Phillips Elementary
  48. Pleasant Hill Elementary
  49. River Woods Elementary
  50. Roosevelt High
  51. Samuelson Elementary
  52. Smouse Opportunity Center
  53. South Union Elementary
  54. Stowe Elementary
  55. Studebaker Elementary
  56. Van Meter High
  57. Weeks Middle
  58. Willard Elementary
  59. Windsor Elementary
  60. Wright Elementary

Download a list of when each school became ENERGY STAR® certified and how long they have been a part of the program here.