School Board members

Members of the 2019 Des Moines School Board (pictured left to right) are: Dionna Langford, Teree Caldwell-Johnson, Rob Barron, Kyrstin Delagardelle (vice chair), Cindy Elsbernd (chair), Superintendent Tom Ahart, Heather Anderson and Dwana Bradley.

The people of Des Moines elect seven members to serve as their representatives on the Des Moines School Board. In turn, the Board is responsible for the governance of Iowa’s largest provider of public education.

School board members in Iowa are elected to four-year terms. Elections are held every other year on the second Tuesday in September, and new members begin their term the following week. The school board then elects a chair and vice chair from among its members.

In addition to their responsibilities on the school board, members also serve on a variety of district committees, represent Des Moines Public Schools on a variety of local, state and national organizations, and maintain cooperative relationships with both national organizations and local governmental bodies.

For information about current members of the School Board, their work and meetings please visit the links to the right.

Board of Directors
Des Moines Public Schools
2323 Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50312
Phone: 515-242-7713

NOTE: Individuals who write or email the School Board should be aware that their correspondence may be subject to examination and copying by others pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 22 of the Code of Iowa.