In Iowa, school board members, or directors, are elected to serve four-year terms. School Board elections are held on the second Tuesday of every-other odd-numbered year. School Board members are an unpaid elected position.

The 2017 School Board election was held on Tuesday, September 12.

Please visit the page in the right-hand menu for more information about the 2017 School Board election or visit the Polk County Election Office web site for information about voting locations, sample ballots, results, and more.

At-Large Seats/Director Districts

School Board members in Des Moines are elected by a combination of at-large and director district seats. Three members are elected at-large and four members are elected from one of four districts. At-large members are elected by voters from the entire school district while district members are elected by voters who reside within a specific district.

Click on the image below to see an enlarged version of the director districts map or click here to download a PDF of the map.


School Board district map

For a more detailed map of each director district, download one of the following PDFs from the Polk County Election Office: