Homeless Services

Students who are homeless deserve access to a quality education and have the following rights:

  • To be allowed to enroll, attend classes, and participate fully in school activities, even if students do not have a parent or guardian with them or documents such as proof of residency, immunization records, other medical records, school records, or other documents.  Once students are enrolled, the school must obtain records from the previous school.
  • To stay in the school they went to before becoming homeless or whatever school they were enrolled in last (school of origin), even if they move out of the district, if that is feasible.  Students can stay in their school of origin the entire time they are homeless.  Students can also finish the school year in their school if they find permanent housing during the year.
  • To transportation to their school of origin, provided or arranged by the school district, or a joint effort among school districts.
  • To preschool services, free or reduced school meals, services for English Language Learners, special education, Title 1 services, vocational/technical education, gifted and talented services, and before and after school care, as needed.

A student is considered homeless if they meet one of the following criteria:

A child or youth, ages 3-21, who lacks a fixed, regular and adequate nighttime residence,  including:

  • Children and youth who are:
    • living in emergency or transitional shelters
    • sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, or similar reason (often called doubled-up)
    • living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or camping grounds due to the lack of alternative accommodations
  • Children and youth who have a primary nighttime residence that is public or private not designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings.
  • Children and youth who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings.
  • Migratory children who qualify as homeless because they are living in circumstances described above.

 

Building Homeless Liaison Designees  |  2021-2022
Brody Tiffany Campbell tiffany.campbell@dmschools.org
Brubaker Lisa Beving Lisa.beving@dmschools.org
Callanan Jessica Earp
Dayna Chandler
Jessica.earp@dmschools.org
dayna.chandler@dmschools.org
Capital View Adriyel Mondloch
Tayli Abel
Adriyel.mondloch@dmschools.org
Tayli.abel@dmschools.org
Carver Reyna Onnen Reyna.onnen@dmschools.org
Cattell Marty Dunne Martin.dunne@dmschools.org
Central Academy Kris Hilton Kristen.hilton@dmschools.org
Central Campus Sonya Smith Sonya.smith@dmschools.org
Cowles
Downtown School
East Madeline Cano Madeline.cano@dmschools.org
Edmunds Megan Kruse Megan.kruse@dmschools.org
Findley Maureen Kennedy Maureen.kennedy@dmschools.org
Garton James (Jim) Stevens James.stevens@dmschools.org
Goodrell Sharlene Claytor

Kimberly Easley

Sharlene.claytor@dmschools.org

Kimberly.easley@dmschools.org

Greenwood Tiffany Taylor Tiffany.taylor@dmschools.org
Hanawalt Tiffany Taylor Tiffany.taylor@dmschools.org
Harding Trevor Hicks Trevor.hicks@dmschools.org
Hiatt Tiffany Braxton

Ashley Masten

Tiffany.braxton@dmschools.org

Ashley.masten@dmschools.org

Hillis Nevenka Francic Nevenka.francic@dmschools.org
Hoover Stacy Cornwell

Demarco Lowery

Stacy.cornwell@dmschools.org

Demarco.lowery@dmschools.org

Howe Natasha Coffin Natasha.coffin@dmschools.org
Hoyt Gabe Carlson

Carrie Crist

Gabriel.carlson@dmschools.org

Carrie.Crist@dmschools.org

Hubbell Jean Maurer Jean.maurer@dmschools.org
Jackson Kala Jones-Stokes Kala.jonesstokes@dmschools.org
Jefferson
King Al Perez

Michael Thompson

Alfonzo.perez@dmschools.org

Michael.thompson@dmschools.org

Lincoln Rachel West

Mary O’Hearn

Rachel.west@dmschools.org

Mary.ohearn@dmschools.org

Lovejoy Sia Turner

Travis Jacobs

Sia.turner@dmschools.org

Travis.jacobs@dmschools.org

Madison Maureen Kennedy Maureen.kennedy@dmschools.org
McCombs Theron Hobbs

Blake Cunningham

Theron.hobbs@dmschools.org

Blake.cunningham@dmschools.org

McKinley Amara Sama Amara.sama@dmschools.org
Meredith Jennifer Murphy Jennifer.murphy@dmschools.org
Merrill Andrew Pavelka Andrew.pavelka@dmschools.org
Monroe Kiersten Cooley

Paige Bowers

Kiersten.cooley@dmschools.org

Paige.bowers@dmschools.org

Moore Amy Halter Amy.halter@dmschools.org
Morris Brad Buckley

Stephanie Smith

Bradley.buckley@dmschools.org

Stephanie.smith@dmschools.org

Moulton Audriana Uhlken

Aaron Smith

Audriana.uhlken@dmschools.org

Aaron.smith@dmschools.org

North Tim Johnson

Erin Hemesath

Timothy.johnson@dmschools.org

Erin.hemesath@dmschools.org

Oak Park Amanda Proctor Amanda.proctor@dmschools.org
Park Avenue Leslie Bechen Leslie.bechen@dmschools.org
Perkins Christi Dougan Christi.dougan@dmschools.org
Phillips
Pleasant Hill
Pre-school (McKee) Jenny Moore Jenny.moore@dmschools.org
Pre-school (Mitchell) Tracey Campo-Westergaard Tracey.campo-westergaard@dmschools.org
Pre-school (Taylor) Jodi Harrell Jodi.harrell@dmschools.org
Pre-school (Woodlawn) Laura Corkrean Laura.Corkrean@dmschools.org
River Woods Brian Walker Brian.Walker@dmschools.org
Roosevelt Lupe Thomason

Laura Amsler

Lupe.thomason@dmschools.org

Laura.amsler@dmschools.org

Ruby Van Meter Cynthia Weisz Cynthia.weisz@dmschools.org
Samuelson Mia Golbuff Mia.golbuff@dmschools.org
South Union Carly Schultz Carly.schultz@dmschools.org
Stowe Amanda Marshall Amanda.marshall@dmschools.org
Studebaker Marissa Tate Marissa.tate@dmschools.org
Virtual Campus Gretchen Critelli Gretchen.critelli@dmschools.org
Walnut Street Natasha Coffin Natasha.coffin@dmschools.org
Weeks Charlene Beattie

Dan Zapeda

Charlene.beattie@dmschools.org

Daniel.zepeda@dmschools.org

Willard Carlos Alonzo Carlos.alonzo@dmschools.org
Windsor Jean Maurer Jean.maurer@dmschools.org
Wright Amara Sama Amara.sama@dmschools.org
Virtual Campus Gretchen Critelli

Karin Mills

Gretchen.critelli@dmschools.org

Karin.mills@dmschools.org

Options Academy Alyssa Zimmerman

Tamara Cross

Alyssa.zimmerman@dmschools.org

Tamara.cross@dmschools.org