Roosevelt Roughriders Make History at 2012 Drake Relays

The Roosevelt 4x100 team does a victory lap at the Drake Relays after winning the event and setting a new high school state record.

Seven really was a lucky number for the Roosevelt girls’ track and field team as they made history this year at the 103rd annual Drake Relays. The Roughriders earned seven titles, set two meet records and a new state record at the 2012 edition of the nation’s premier track and field event. The Roosevelt girls’ track team has a long record of success at the Drake Relays, winning 50 titles over the years.

Success for the Riders began on Thursday, when Alexa Hunt won the shot put with a throw of 42′ 3.75″, more than a foot further than the next closest competitor.

On Friday, Roosevelt collected five victories, starting with a win by the sprint medley relay team, consisting of Destani Welch, McKenna Schnack, Agnes Sayeh and Erin Hawkins. They clocked  a time of 1:46.20. That was followed in quick succession with wins by Destani Welch in the 100-meter hurdles with a time of 14.92; Erin Hawkins in the 100 meters dash in a time of 12.67; and a 17′  9.5″ long jump by Jalynn Roberts-Lewis to capture that event.

The day was capped off by the 4×200 relay team of Jaylynn Roberts-Lewis, McKenna Schnack, Agnes Sayeh and Erin Hawkins.The 4×200 team broke its own Drake Relays record set last year, winning in a time of 1:41.66.

But the Riders saved the best for the last day of the Relays. The 4×100 team of Destani Welch, Agnes Sayeh, Jalynn Roberts-Lewis and Erin Hawkins not only won and not only set a Drake Relays record, they set a new Iowa high school record with a time of 47.55.

And while the team was collecting victories, they were also showing solidarity with friends in the West Des Moines school district, wearing a yellow ribbon on their uniforms as tribute to a student who recently committed suicide.

To see complete results of all events at the 2012 Drake Relays, click here.

Student-athletes from four Des Moines high schools competed in 17 different events at this year’s Drake Relays. Congratulations to everyone who qualified to participate:


  • 4×200 relay: Moussa Kuyaheta, Rico Gafford, Terrence Kalar, Craig Taylor


  • 110 meter hurdles: Trenton Jones, Elijah Young
  • 4×110 shuttle hurdle relay: Elijah Young, Sajen Vogel, Roy Patterson and Trenton Jones (Finn Hoogensen and Allan Smith; Alternates)
  • 4×100 relay: Jordan Cheatem, Vybert Greene, Tony Young and Kippie Ward (Danny Webb and Andrew Caulker; Alternates)
  • 4×200 relay: Jordan Cheatem, Vybert Greene, Andrew Caulker and Kippie Ward (Tony Young and Jordan Bryson; Alternates)



  • 4×100 relay: Emmanuel Zeo, Solomon Cooper, Darryn Brooks, Kajuan Davenport


  • 4×100 relay:  Lola Gweah, Kenya Williams, Shantell Cortez, Richelle Jimerson



  • 110 meter hurdles: Sydne Davis
  • 4×100 relay: Cameron Williams, Bryant Johnson, Jaquan Patton, Ashan Green
  •  4×400 relay: Cameron Williams, Bryant Johnson, Jaquan Patton, Sydne Davis, Colton Marcellus (alternate), Jack Fritzjunker (alternate)
  • High Jump: Bryant Johnson
  • Long Jump: Cameron Williams


  • 100 Meters: Erin Hawkins, Jalynn Roberts-Lewis, Destani Welch, Agnes Sayeh
  • 100 Meter hurdles: Destani Welch
  • 1500 Meters: Emma Huston
  • 3000 Meters: Emma Huston
  • 4×100 relay: Destani Welch, Agnes Sayeh, Jalynn Roberts-Lewis, Erin Hawkins
  • 4×200 relay: Jaylynn Roberts-Lewis, McKenna Schnack, Agnes Sayeh, Erin Hawkins
  • 4×400 relay:  Receva Duos, Ashley Brown, McKenna Schnack, Hannah Goodwin
  • Sprint medley relay: Destani Welch, McKenna Schnack, Agnes Sayeh, Erin Hawkins
  • Long Jump: Jalynn Roberts-Lewis
  • Shot Put: Alexa Hunt
Published on