Thirteen Central Academy Seniors Named as Candidates in Presidential Scholar Program

Thirteen seniors at Central Academy have been named as candidates for the 2012 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The candidates were selected from nearly 3.2 million students expected to graduate from U.S. high schools in the year 2012. Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, now in its 48th year, is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.

Central Academy seniors (along with their home high schools) are named below:

  • Jack Bequeaith (Roosevelt High School)
  • Braden Edwards (Lincoln High School)
  • Corey Grief (Roosevelt High School)
  • Andrea Harlan (Roosevelt High School)
  • Xiaoxue Liu (Valley High School)
  • Matthew Mackay (Roosevelt High School)
  • Megan Mansfield (Roosevelt High School)
  • Sarah Mansfield (Roosevelt High School)
  • Kathryn Marcus (Roosevelt High School)
  • China Mauck (Roosevelt High School)
  • Alisha Smith (North Polk High School)
  • Augustine Villa (Dowling High School)
  • Luchang Wang (Valley High School)

“This is a wonderful honor for these seniors, who are successful both in and out of the classroom” said Crista Carlile, supervisor of Central Academy.

More than 3,000 candidates – or about one-tenth of one percent of senior high school students – were named in the 2012 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. A total of 53 Iowa students were included.

The candidates were selected for their exceptional performance on either the College Board SAT or the ACT Assessment. Further consideration is based on students’ essays, self-assessments, descriptions of activities, school recommendations, and school transcripts.

A panel of educators will review these submissions and select 500 semifinalists in early April. The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of some 32 eminent citizens appointed by the President, will make final selection of the Scholars. They will select one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and U.S. students living abroad; 15 students at-large; and up to 20 students from the creative and performing arts.

The U.S. Department of Education will announce the Scholars in May. Scholars will be invited to Washington, DC, for several days in June to receive the Presidential Scholars Medallion at a recognition ceremony and to participate in events and activities with their elected representatives, educators, and other leading individuals in public life.

More information is available at