Hanawalt Elementary Welcomes New Principal: Jolene Liebl

Portrait of new Hanawalt principal Jolen Liebl

Jolene Liebl will be the principal of Hanawalt Elementary School beginning with the 2018-19 school year.

The district is pleased to announce a new principal for Hanawalt Elementary School. Jolene Liebl, who is currently serving as Oskaloosa Elementary School principal, will join the DMPS team after the end of the school year.

Liebl replaces Kelly Schofield, who has accepted the position of DMPS Director of Elementary Teaching and Learning. She will support the core areas of reading and mathematics, as well as the K-12 work for the arts, physical education and health.

Jolene Libel started her career as a third-grade teacher in Aldine, Texas, a suburb of Houston. She returned to Iowa in 2006 to be a third-grade teacher and then an instructional coach for Newton Community Schools. She accepted the job of principal in Oskaloosa in 2014. Libel earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Iowa State University, and her master’s degrees in education and educational leadership from Viterbo University in Wisconsin and Iowa State University, respectively.

“We’re pleased a leader of Jolene Liebl’s experience is moving to the metro and that she’s chosen Des Moines Public Schools,” said Executive Director of Elementary Schools Susan Tallman. “She is a leader with instructional and coaching knowledge and proven results at the elementary level.”

When Hanawalt Elementary School opened its doors to students in 1913, there were just four teachers assigned to the building. Today, the building and its robust school community are the heart of a well-established southwest side neighborhood.

“Working for Des Moines Public Schools has long been a career goal,” Liebl said. “I am excited to join the district, not only to be a part of a team with an outstanding reputation, but to also work with the diverse, innovative, resourceful staff and students at Hanawalt.”

Liebl begins work as principal of Hanawalt Elementary School on July 1, 2018.