Six DMPS Seniors Earn Rotary Club Scholarships

20170412 2017 04 12 23.59.18

The Rotary Club of Greater Des Moines presented scholarships to seniors from East, Hoover, Lincoln, North, Roosevelt and Scavo.

Congratulations to six DMPS seniors who have been awarded four-year college scholarships by the Rotary Club of Greater Des Moines.

Robbie Boggess of East, Jared Baker of Hoover, Giovanni Tenikat of Lincoln, Kaine Burch of North, Hope Stone of Roosevelt and Michaela Pratt of Scavo were the guests of honor at the Rotary Club luncheon on April 13th at the Wakonda Club.

Each of them will receive scholarships with an annual value of $2,000 for a total award over four years of $8,000.

Members of The Rotary Club of Des Moines provide financial support for educational and charitable activities through The Rotary Club of Des Moines Foundation, created in 1982.

Activities funded annually by the Foundation include:

  • Police, Firefighter, and Educator of the Year Awards
  • College scholarships for local high school students
  • Read to Lead reading program benefitting local elementary students
  • Camperships for youngsters to attend educational and recreational summer camps
  • Thanksgiving food baskets for needy families
  • Salvation Army donation at Christmas

Rotary Club Educator of the Year Awards will be announced next week.