Roosevelt Named Science Bound High School of the Year

Roosevelt Science Bound

Roosevelt students and teachers were honored with the Science Bound High School of the Year award from Iowa State University.

Roosevelt High School has been recognized as the Science Bound High School of the Year.

Science Bound is Iowa State University’s premier pre-college program to increase the number of ethnically diverse Iowa students who pursue college degrees in agricultural, scientific, technology, engineering and mathematics. The program draws students with potential from middle and high schools in Des Moines, Denison and Marshalltown.

The award was presented last night to Roosevelt students and teachers in recognition of their participation, attendance and academic achievement in the classroom. The Science Bound program teachers at Roosevelt are Deb Smith-Henry, Noreen Nsereko and Chris Sosnowski.

“What a tremendous honor this is for our students who have devoted countless hours of research and study to prepare themselves for potential ASTEM degrees. I am so impressed with their work!” said Roosevelt principal Kevin Biggs. “Our teacher leaders, Mrs. Nsereko, Mrs. Smith-Henry and Mr. Sosnowski, are to be commended for their leadership and inspiration.”

Science Bound students may begin participation in the program as early as 7th grade. Iowa State University provides a range of support through the program, from professional development for teachers to workshops for parents to summer programs for students. Students who successfully complete the high school program, meet admission requirements to Iowa State University and pursue a STEM degree at ISU receive a full tuition scholarship from the university.

Additional information about Science Bound is available at