Justice, Judges to Take Part in High School Moot Court, AP Government Classes

A member of the Iowa Supreme Court and two judges from the Iowa Court of Appeals will serve as the “Chief Justice” of moot court arguments being held next week as a part of AP Government classes at three DMPS high schools.

Iowa Supreme Court Justice Edward Mansfield along with Judge Anu Vaitheswaran and Judge Mary Tabor of the Iowa Court of Appeals will join a panel students judges to hear oral arguments in two cases.

All three jurists are also the parents of current or former DMPS students.

“It’s really an honor to have three jurists from Iowa’s highest courts in our classrooms to work with our students on such a critical lesson in American government,” said Amber Graeber, humanities coordinator for Des Moines Public Schools.

The moot court arguments will be held as follows:


9:00 – 11:00 AM
Lincoln High School, 2600 SW 9th Street (library)
Judge Vaitheswaran

1:05 – 2:35 PM
Roosevelt High School, 4419 Center Street (room 3370)
Judge Tabor


9:00 – 11:00 AM
Hoover High School, 4800 Aurora Avenue (library)
Justice Mansfield