DMPS Names New Principals at Brubaker, Windsor Schools

Des Moines Public Schools is pleased to announce the appointment of Amy Wiegmann as the new principal of Brubaker Elementary School and Scott Nichols as the new principal of Windsor Elementary School. Wiegmann is currently the school improvement leader at Smouse Opportunity School and Nichols is the dean of students at River Woods Elementary School, both in Des Moines.

Wiegmann replaces Mike Lord and Nichols replaces Barry Jones, who were both recently appointed to district-wide positions. Lord is the Director of Elementary Student Services and Jones is the Director of Elementary School Services.

“Amy and Scott have the experience and commitment to be terrific new educational leaders in our district,” said interim Superintendent Tom Ahart. “I know they are both looking forward to working with the teachers, staff and families in the Brubaker and Windsor communities to support the best interests of our students.”

Brubaker Elementary School is located at 2900 East 42nd Street, and serves nearly 700 students. Windsor Elementary School is home to more than 400 students, and is located at 5912 University Avenue.

“I am very excited for the opportunity to return to Brubaker, and build upon the solid educational foundation that is in place for our students” said Wiegmann. “Together, I know we will focus on the common goal of helping students succeed, both academically and socially.”

“As students walk through the doors each morning, they should feel that school is an inviting and exciting place where they can stretch their abilities to the fullest potential,” added Nichols. “I am looking forward to working with everyone at Windsor to help every student realize their potential.”

Wiegmann began her career in education at Des Moines Public Schools 20 years ago as a self-contained autism teacher at Hanawalt Elementary School. She was also a special education behavior interventionist at Merrill Middle School and a positive behavior support teacher for the school district’s west zone. Wiegmann spent five years as the dean of students at Brubaker Elementary School before becoming the school improvement leader at Smouse in 2011.

Wiegmann received a BS in elementary education from the University of Iowa and holds two Master’s degrees from Iowa State University, one in curriculum and instruction, and a second in educational administration.

Nichols spent 15 years as an elementary and middle school classroom teacher with the Humboldt-St. Mary’s and Knoxville (IA) school districts, where he was also a part of several district-wide efforts in areas ranging from the Iowa Core Curriculum to student behavior. He joined Des Moines Public Schools in 2010 as the dean of students at River Woods.

Nichols received a BS in elementary education from Iowa State University. He also has both a MS and Specialist in Education degree from Drake University.