DMPS Musicians Selected for All-State Music Festival

Twenty-seven students from four Des Moines high schools have been selected to participate in the 2011 All-State Music Festival on November 18 and 19 in Ames. This year marks the 65th anniversary of this prestigious event.

For one Des Moines student – violinist Nina Liu, a senior at Roosevelt High School – this marks the fourth consecutive year she has been selected as a member of the All-State Orchestra.

“The All-State Music Festival is one of the highest honors a high school musician can achieve in the state of Iowa,” said Joanne Tubbs, Fine and Performing Arts Curriculum Coordinator for Des Moines Public Schools. “We are incredibly proud of both our students and teachers who worked tirelessly to achieve this goal, and look forward to future accomplishments by these fine students.”

Thousands of students from Iowa high schools auditioned on October 22 at six statewide district auditions. Approximately 17 percent of the students who auditioned were selected for membership in the All-State ensembles.

Students selected from Des Moines Public Schools were:

All-State Band

  • Corey Grief, Horn 3, senior, Roosevelt High School
  • Jennifer Hugg, Clarinet 1, junior, Roosevelt High School
  • Allison Kaiser, Clarinet 1, senior, Hoover High SchoolJ
  • ohn Lewis, Trumpet Alternate, senior, Roosevelt High School
  • Sarah Mansfield, Flute 1, junior, Roosevelt High School

All-State Orchestra

  • Conner Daza, Cello, junior, Hoover High School
  • Elizabeth Fisher Violin II, freshman, Roosevelt High School
  • Grant Goss, Viola, senior, Roosevelt High School
  • Madison Helton, Viola, sophomore, Roosevelt High School
  • Patrick Hiatt, Violin II, sophomore, Roosevelt High School
  • aughn Hommerding, Violin I, freshman, Roosevelt High School
  • Jessica Jensen, Violin II, junior, North High School
  • Mila Kaut, Violin II, freshman, Roosevelt High School
  • Sofia Kaut, Violin I, junior, Roosevelt High School
  • Nina Liu, Violin I, senior, Roosevelt High School
  • Hannah Marks, 1st Cello Alternate, freshman, Roosevelt High School
  • China Mauck, Percussion 1, senior, Roosevelt High School
  • Elaina Steenson, Viola, junior, Roosevelt High School
  • Joe Wandro, Bass, sophomore, Roosevelt High School

All-State Choir

  • Josie Bowen, Alto, junior, Lincoln High School
  • Caleb Ceretti, Bass, senior, Lincoln High School
  • Bailey Johnson, Soprano, senior, Lincoln High School
  • Joshua Joy, Bass, junior, Hoover High School
  • Caleb Lusk, Bass, senior, Lincoln High School
  • Caleb Peterson, Tenor, senior, Lincoln High School
  • Allison Richter, Alto, junior, Lincoln High School
  • Dan Schnathorst, Tenor, junior, Lincoln High School 

Participants will rehearse in Ames on November 18-19, and the Festival Concert will be presented to the public on Saturday, November 19 at 7:30 p.m. in Iowa State University’s Hilton Coliseum. Iowa Public Television will record the concert for re-broadcast on Thursday, November 24 at 7 p.m. and Sunday, November 27 at 5:30 p.m. This program is under the auspices of the Iowa High School Music Association and the Iowa Music Educators Association.