DMPS Musicians Selected for All-State Music Festival

A total of 20 students from four Des Moines high schools have been selected to participate in the 2009 All-State Music Festival Nov. 19-21 in Ames. Thousands of students from Iowa high schools auditioned on Oct. 24, 2009, at six regional auditions. Less than 1 percent of Iowa high school musicians were selected for this prestigious honor.

Des Moines’ all-state musicians are:

Katie Hawks, trumpet, senior, Hoover

Allison Kaiser, clarinet alternate, Hoover

Elizabeth Lockin, oboe alternate, freshman, Hoover

Steven Best, alto sax alternate, junior, Lincoln

Deborah Chaplin (voice-Opus choir), soprano, Lincoln

Kelsey Edwards, voice (alto), junior, Lincoln

Brandon Louis, voice (bass), senior, Lincoln

Aly Olson, voice (soprano), junior, Lincoln

Caleb Peterson, voice (tenor), sophomore, Lincoln

Kourtney Richards, voice (alto) junior, Lincoln

Becky Stangl, bass clarinet, senior, North

Greta Dahlberg, percussion, senior, Roosevelt

Sam Jones, voice (tenor), senior, Roosevelt

Sophia Kaut, violin, freshman, Roosevelt

Reuben Kebede, violin, junior, Roosevelt

Nina Liu, violin, sophomore, Roosevelt

Allison MacKay, french horn alternate, senior, Roosevelt

Megan Mansfield, viola, sophomore, Roosevelt

Katie Marcus, viola, sophomore, Roosevelt

Michael Terrell, cello alternate, junior, Roosevelt


“The All-State Music Festival is one of the highest honors a high school musician can achieve in the state of Iowa,” said Joanne Tubbs, music curriculum coordinator for Des Moines Public Schools. “We are incredibly proud of both our students and teachers who worked tirelessly to achieve this goal, and look forward to future accomplishments by these fine students.”


The all-state music performance will be broadcast on Iowa Public Television on Thursday, Nov. 26, 2009, at 7 p.m.