Des Moines Public Schools Students Names 2009 AP Scholars

Thirteen Des Moines Public Schools high school students have been identified as AP National Scholars in 2009. The College Board annually releases the AP Scholars list for each school district following the results of the AP testing that occurs in the spring. To earn the AP National Scholar Award a student must take eight or more AP exams and receive a near perfect score on each exam.

Recipients of the AP National Scholars Award from Des Moines are Spencer Abbe (Lincoln), Charlie Caris (Roosevelt), Alex Crichton (Roosevelt), Zach Flickinger (East), Maxwell Hawkins (Roosevelt), Jane Hommerding (Roosevelt), Jacob Lewin (Roosevelt), Alexandra Nassif (Roosevelt), Neel Nath (Roosevelt), Jaqueline Oberlander (Roosevelt), Kate Perdock (Roosevelt), Joel Schneider (Roosevelt), and Katherine Walsh (Roosevelt).

In addition, Joel Schneider (Roosevelt) became the first Des Moines student to earn the award as a sophomore. Zach Flickinger (East) and Neel Nath (Roosevelt) received the award as juniors. Twenty Central Academy students received the AP National Scholar Award this year — seven of them were from surrounding school districts.

“The AP National Scholar Award is a tremendous distinction,” said Dr. Nancy Sebring, superintendent of Des Moines Public Schools. “I am proud of the achievements of these Central Academy students and it is wonderful they are being recognized on a national level.”

The College Board’s mission is to connect students to college success and opportunity. Among its programs are the SAT, PSAT/NMSQT, and the Advanced Placement program. Most of the nation’s colleges and universities award credit, advanced placement, or both based on successful performance on the AP exams. More than 1,400 institutions award a full year’s credit (sophomore standing) to students presenting a sufficient number of qualifying grades.

In total, 151 Central Academy students were identified for various AP Scholar Awards in 2009. These awards include AP Scholars, AP Scholars with Honors, and AP Scholars with Distinction. Central Academy students have received 215 National Scholar awards and 1,748 AP Scholar awards since 1991. Historically, 31 of the total 38 students receiving the State of Iowa AP Scholar Awards have attended Central Academy.

Additional information regarding the College Board’s Advanced Placement Program is available at