Community School Coordinators

Des Moines Public Schools is a partner in the Coalition for Community Schools. DMPS Community Schools exist to build meaningful partnerships between families, schools, and the community leading to improved student learning, thriving families and vibrant Des Moines neighborhoods.  

Community School Coordinators work with their school teams to create a comprehensive continuum of internal and external supports to ensure students’ personal and academic success. Community School Coordinators aim to accomplish the following objectives: 

  • Foster effective school-community relationships toward improved student outcomes 
  • Support transitions in schools with an emphasis on improved student engagement   
  • Improve students’ community engagement and social awareness  
  • Increase family engagement with schools  
  • Expand the community school strategy 

2020-2021 Community School Sites 

School Name  Community School Coordinator  Contact 
Capitol View Elementary  Adriyel Mondloch 
King Elementary   Al Perez 
Lovejoy Elementary  Sia Turner
McKinley Elementary  Molly Girsch 
Monroe Elementary   Kiersten Cooley
Morris Elementary  Brad Buckley 
Moulton Elementary  Audriana Lu-Uhlken
Samuelson Elementary   Pashion Muhammad 
Callanan Middle  Louis Fountain 
Goodrell Middle  Sharlene Claytor 
Hiatt Middle  Tiffany Braxton 
Hoyt Middle
Gabe Carlson
McCombs Middle
Theron Hobbs
Meredith Middle Lyn Marchant 
Weeks Middle  Charlene Beattie 
Central Campus  Sonya Smith 
East High   Antonia Valadez 
Hoover High   DeMco Lowery 
Lincoln High   Rachel West
North High   Tim Johnson 
Roosevelt High  Lupe Thomason 
Virtual Campus Gretchen Critelli 

Community School Coordinators are funded by United Way of Central Iowa Education Impact funds, the United Way of Central Iowa ELI- Education Leadership Initiative, and the United States Department of Education Full Service Community Schools Program.


District Community School Coordinator

Cara Edmondson