Community School Coordinators

Des Moines Public Schools is a partner in the Coalition for Community Schools. DMPS Community Schools exist to build meaningful partnerships between families, schools, and the community leading to improved student learning, thriving families and vibrant Des Moines neighborhoods.  

Community School Coordinators work with their school teams to create a comprehensive continuum of internal and external supports to ensure students’ personal and academic success. Community School Coordinators aim to accomplish the following objectives: 

  • Foster effective school-community relationships toward improved student outcomes 
  • Support transitions in schools with an emphasis on improved student engagement   
  • Improve students’ community engagement and social awareness  
  • Increase family engagement with schools  
  • Expand the community school strategy 

2019-2020 Community School Sites 

School Name  Community School Coordinator  Contact 
Capitol View Elementary  Adriyel Mondloch  Adriyel.mondloch@dmschools.org 
King Elementary   Al Perez  Alfonso.perez@dmschools.org 
Lovejoy Elementary  Sia Turner
Sia.turner@dmschools.org
McKinley Elementary  Molly Girsch  Molly.girsch@dmschools.org 
Monroe Elementary   Kiersten Cooley Kiersten.cooley@dmschools.org
Morris Elementary  Brad Buckley  Bradley.buckley@dmschools.org 
Moulton Elementary  Audriana Lu-Uhlken Audriana.luuhlken@dmschools.org
Samuelson Elementary   Pashion Muhammad  Pashion.muhammad@dmschools.org 
     
Callanan Middle  Louis Fountain  Louis.fountain@dmchools.org 
Goodrell Middle  Sharlene Claytor  Sharlene.claytor@dmschools.org 
Hiatt Middle  Tiffany Braxton  Tiffany.braxton@dmschools.org 
Hoyt Middle
Gabe Carlson Gabriel.carlson@dmschools.org
McCombs Middle
Theron Hobbs Theron.hobbs@dmschools.org
Weeks Middle  Charlene Beattie  Charlene.beattie@dmschools.org 
     
Central Campus  Sonya Smith  Sonya.smith@dmschools.org 
East High   Antonia Valadez  Antonia.valadez@dmschools.org 
Hoover High   Gretchen Critelli  Gretchen.critelli@dmschools.org 
Lincoln High   Cara Edmondson  Cara.edmondson@dmschools.org 
North High   Tim Johnson  Timothy.johnson@dmschools.org 
Roosevelt High  Lupe Thomason  Lupe.thomason@dmschools.org 
Scavo Full Service High   Lyn Marchant  Lynette.marchant@dmschools.org 

Community School Coordinators are funded by United Way of Central Iowa Education Impact funds, the United Way of Central Iowa ELI- Education Leadership Initiative, and the United States Department of Education Full Service Community Schools Program.

 

District Community School Coordinator

Jill Padgett
Address: 1000 Porter Ave., Des Moines, IA