Community Schools

About Community Schools

Des Moines Public Schools is a partner in the Coalition for Community Schools. DMPS Community Schools exist to build meaningful partnerships between families, schools, and the community leading to improved student learning, thriving families and vibrant Des Moines neighborhoods. It’s one more way DMPS is becoming the model for urban education in the United States.

Community School Coordinators

Community School Coordinators work with their school teams to create a comprehensive continuum of internal and external supports to ensure students’ personal and academic success. Community School Coordinators aim to accomplish the following objectives:

  • Foster effective school-community relationships toward improved student outcomes
  • Support transitions in schools with an emphasis on improved student engagement
  • Improve students’ community engagement and social awareness
  • Increase family engagement with schools
  • Expand the community school strategy
School NameCoordinatorContact
Capitol View ElementaryAdriyel
King Elementary Al
Lovejoy ElementaryTheron
McKinley ElementaryMolly
Monroe Elementary Lesleyann
Morris ElementaryBrad
Moulton ElementaryBrent
Samuelson Elementary Pashion
Callanan MiddleLouis
Goodrell MiddleSharlene
Weeks MiddleLawanda
Central CampusSonya
East High SchoolAntonia
Hoover High SchoolGretchen
Lincoln High SchoolCara
North High SchoolTim
Roosevelt High SchoolLupe
Scavo Full Service High SchoolLyn

Community School Coordinators are funded by United Way of Central Iowa Education Impact funds, the United Way of Central Iowa ELI- Education Leadership Initiative, and the United States Department of Education Full Service Community Schools Program.