The Iowa High School Music Association held auditions at regional sites around the state last weekend. When the last notes had faded, thirteen proved to be a lucky number for 13 DMPS student-musicians who qualified for the 2017 Iowa All-State Music Festival, to be held on November 16-18 at Iowa State University in Ames.

Thousands audition every year for a coveted spot in the elite band, orchestra and chorus, but less than 10% are accepted. The festival at ISU culminates with a concert in Hilton Coliseum after two days of rehearsal.

This year DMPS qualifiers come from Lincoln, North and Roosevelt.

Five Rails were chosen for the All-State Chorus and one for All-State Band:

  • Angela Bruce (junior)
  • Michael Bundy (senior)
  • Aaron Choi (senior)
  • Lorena Eclatt (senior)
  • Everett Reed (senior)
  • Ryan Hyslope was selected on trombone for the All-State Band.

North had two accepted to the All-State Orchestra: 

  • Jenna Jensen (senior, violin)
  • Stephanie Ramos (senior, viola)

Roosevelt had two selected for All-State Orchestra, two selected for All-State Band, and one for All-State Chorus:

  • Oskar Kaut (junior, cello)
  • Jackson Geadelmann (junior, viola)
  • Maya Miller (senior, flute)
  • Jane Dias (junior, flute)
  • Rylee Sievers (senior, chorus)

Iowa Public Television will tape the festival concert featuring all three ensembles for rebroadcast on the following dates/times: November 23 @ 7:00 PM; December 3 @ 2:30 PM.

Congratulations to the honorees!

Published on