Students from all Five High Schools Prepare for State Track & Field

55 Students Qualify for State in 27 Different Events

Student-athletes from all five Des Moines high schools qualified for this week’s 2012 Iowa State High School Track and Field Championship. In fact, 55 DMPS students qualified in 27 different events at the state meet, which runs from Thursday through Saturday at the Drake University stadium.

Congratulations and good luck to everyone competing for a state title.

For more information on the state track meet, visit the Iowa High School Athletic Association or the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union.

The following are DMPS student-athletes competing at the 2012 Iowa State High School Track and Field Championship:



  • 400 meter dash: Terrence Karlar
  • 4×100 meter relay: Moussa Kuyateh, Terrence Karlar, Craig Taylor, Rico Gafford
  • 4×200 meter relay: Moussa Kuyateh, O’Ron Manson, Craig Taylor, Rico Gafford
  • 4×800 meter relay: Steve Ukpan, Tre Wiles, Salat Jones, Grant Jones
  • 4×110 shuttle hurdle relay: Rico Gafford, Brandon Long, Blake Cunningham, Craig Taylor
  • Wheel Chair 100 and 200 meter dash: Austin Lee



  • 200 meter dash: Reanna Lewis


  • 800 meter run: Matt Pearson



  • Wheel Chair Shot Put: Cassy Bash
  • Wheel Chair 100, 200, and 400 meter dash: Cassy Bash


  • 100 meter dash: Vybert Greene
  • 200 meter dash: Jordan Cheatem and Vybert Greene
  • 400 meter hurdles: Trenton Jones and Elijah Young
  • 4×200 meter relay: Jordan Cheatem, Vybert Greene, Jordan Bryson, Andrew Caulker
  • 4×110 shuttle hurdle relay: Elijah Young, Sajen Vogel, Roy Patterson, Trenton Jones



  • 100 meter dash: Lola Gweah
  • 200 meter dash: Lola Gweah
  • 4×200 meter relay: Lola Gweah, Kenya Williams, Shantell Cortez, Richelle Jimerson (Mikayla Carey and Jassmine Treager = alternates)


  • 4×100 meter relay: Kajuan Davenport, Solomon Cooper, Darryn Brooks, Emmanuel Zeo



  • 100 meter dash: Agnes Sayeh* and Erin Hawkins*
  • 200 meter dash: Jalynn Roberts-Lewis and Erin Hawkins*
  • 400 meter dash: Agnes Sayeh*
  • 1500 meter run: Emma Houston and Megan Schott
  • 3000 meter run: Emma Houston and McKenzie Carney
  • 100 meter hurdles: Destani Welch
  • 400 meter hurdles: Hannah Goodwin
  • Discus: Taylor Wells
  • Shot Put: Alexa Hunt
  • 4×100 meter relay: Destani Welch, Makenna Schnack, Jalynn Roberts-Lewis, Agnes Sayeh* (Erin Hawkins and Sara Musa = alternates)
  • 4×200 meter relay: Destani Welch, Makenna Schnack, Jalynn Roberts-Lewis, Erin Hawkins (Agnes Sayeh and Sara Musa = alternates)
  • 4×800 meter relay: Emma Buchanan, Megan Schott, Elizabeth Fisher, Emma Huston (McKenzie Carney and Julia Robinson = alternates)
  • Sprint medley relay: Destani Welch, Sara Musa, Makenna Schnack, Agnes Sayeh* (Erin Hawkins and Receva Duos = alternates)

NOTE: Roosevelt’s Erin Hawkins will not be competing due to an injury. Agnes Sayeh will not be competing due to a conduct code violation.


  • 400 meter dash: Bryant Johnson
  • 3200 meter run: Grant Suttie
  • 110 meter hurdles: Sydne Davis
  • 400 meter hurdles: Sydne Davis
  • High jump: Jack Fritzjunker and Bryant Johnson
  • Long jump: Cameron Williams and Sydne Davis
  • 4×400 meter relay: Cameron Williams, Jaquan Patton, Bryant Johnson, Sydne Davis, (Jack Fritzjunker and Colton Marcellus = alternates)
  • Distance medley relay: Cameron Williams, Jaquan Patton, Bryant Johnson, Jack Fritzjunker (Grant Suttie and Ashon Green = alternates)
Published on