Notice for Public Comment – NCLB

No Child Left Behind

NCLBWaiverDes Moines Public Schools is collaborating with eight of the largest school districts in Iowa to submit a waiver request to the United States Department of Education from the following requirements of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, also referred to as No Child Left Behind (NCLB):  School Choice, Supplemental Education Services (SES), and associated set-aside funds.

The public is invited to provide public comment by email to Wilma Gajdel, Director of Federal Programs, at

Comments must be received by 4:00 PM, Friday, July 11, 2014.

Click here to read a copy of the waiver being requested by the Cedar Rapids, Council Bluffs, Davenport, Des Moines, Dubuque, Iowa City, Muscatine, Sioux City and Waterloo school districts.