Hoover, Roosevelt Seniors Named U.S. Presidential Scholar Candidates

Four seniors attending Hoover and Roosevelt high schools in Des Moines have been named by the U.S. Department of Education and the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars as candidates for the 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The DMPS students, who also attend classes at Central Academy, are:

  • Edel Aron – Roosevelt High School
  • Lillian Nellans – Roosevelt High School
  • Maxwell Pilcher – Roosevelt High School
  • Ryan Utke – Hoover High School

Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, now in its 50th year, is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.

Each year approximately 3,000 candidates – or about one-tenth of one percent of senior high school students – are named as candidates in the 2012 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. A total of 53 Iowa students were included.

The candidates were selected for their exceptional performance on either the College Board SAT or the ACT Assessment. Further consideration is based on students’ essays, self-assessments, descriptions of activities, school recommendations, and school transcripts.

In April, 560 semifinalists will be named and in May the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars will announce up to 141 Presidential Scholars. Those will be invited to Washington, DC, for several days in June to receive the Presidential Scholars Medallion at a recognition ceremony and to participate in events and activities with their elected representatives, educators, and other leading individuals in public life.

More information is available at www.ed.gov/psp.