Rotary Club Honors Four DMPS Teachers


Four Des Moines Public Schools teachers received the “2014 Educator of the Year” award from the Rotary Club of Des Moines.

Amy Erwin, first grade teacher at Madison Elementary, Ameila Kissell, seventh grade science teacher at Brody Middle School, Mindy Euken, Spanish teacher at Roosevelt High School and Karen Sissel, Theater Arts teacher at Lincoln High School were honored at the Rotary meeting on April 3 at the Wakonda Club.

The women took home commemorative clocks, $1,000 and a traveling plaque to hang inside their schools.

The teachers were nominated by their principals.  They then completed a written narrative describing aspects of how their teaching proves excellence in education.  A Rotary Club committee selected the recipients.

Superintendent Tom Ahart thanked the Rotarians for their recognition of the standout teachers and the hard work Des Moines teachers do in the classroom everyday.

“There are 3,000 teaching jobs in Des Moines,” Ahart said.  “Not one of those jobs is easy.”

Created with Admarket’s flickrSLiDR.

Published on